Check other recent calls and fellowships.       Keep updated on Twitter and Facebook.


Call for Papers for the interdisciplinary conference “Refugee migration and integration revisited: lessons from the recent past” organized by the IAB-ECSR


14-15 May 2020 – Institute for Employment Research (IAB), Regensburger Straße 100, Nuremberg, Germany


Germany has emerged as the leading destination of refugees in the EU and among other high-income countries in absolute terms at 1.6 million asylum applications, which have been submitted there from 2015 to 2018. More than two-thirds of the refugee population in Germany has already received a protection status, another one-fifth of the applications are still pending. Almost five years after the surge in refugee migration to Germany and other European countries in 2015 we aim to draw first conclusions of what has been achieved regarding the integration of refugees into the economy and
other areas of society in the leading destination countries of asylum-seekers in the EU and worldwide.
The conference aims to bring together demographers, economists, sociologists and political scientists to discuss the most critical lessons on refugee integration in Europe and encourages contributions on the following topics:
• refugee migration, family reunification and patterns of settlement;
• selection of refugees;
• asylum procedures and effectiveness of integration programs;
• refugee penalty and labor market integration;
• educational and training opportunities for refugees and their offspring;
• social integration and family dynamics;
• language and cultural integration;
• health and traumata;
• effects on host country economy and population.


Deadline: 15 February 2020. Abstracts of max. 1000 words (plus three keywords) can be submitted to Please, also indicate the preferred presentation format (panel or poster presentation).

ECSR travel award
The ECSR will also cover travels and accommodation costs up to 750€ for four outstanding PhD students. In order to be eligible for a travel award, the applicant must be the sole author, or the first author of the paper and the full paper must be submitted to and accepted by the workshop committee. Only PhD students or researchers, who submitted their PhDs no earlier than 2019 are eligible.

Keynote Lectures
• Jesús Fernández-Huertas Moraga, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
• Elias Dinas, European University Institute
• Rawan Arar, University of Washington

Local Organizers
• Yuliya Kosyakova (IAB)
• Herbert Brücker (IAB)
Scientific Committee
Silke Anger (IAB & University of Bamberg), Stefan Bernhard (IAB & FAU), Herbert Brücker (IAB, BIM &
Humboldt University), Christian Czymara (Goethe University Frankfurt), Anette Haas (IAB), Jannes Jacobsen
(DIW & & Humboldt University), Agnieszka Kanas (University of Amsterdam), Irena Kogan
(University of Mannheim), Cornelia Kristen (University of Bamberg), Yuliya Kosyakova (IAB & University
of Mannheim), Zerrin Salikutluk (BIM & Humboldt University), Ehsan Valizadeh (IAB & University of

What we do || Who we are || Join AIR project.

Leave a Reply